Parliamentary Officers

The Clerk of Parliament

The Clerk of Parliament is responsible for the overall management and budget of Parliament. 

As of 2020, the Clerk is also the Chief Officer of the Parliament Management Commission per the Parliament (Management) Act, and is responsible for both the House and Operations of the Parliament and its Commission.

Photo of the Clerk, Acting Deputy Clerk, Serjeant-at-Arms, and Parliamentary Page in front of the House of Parliament.


(Left to right: Mr. Christopher Clarke, Parliamentary Page; Mrs. Zena Merren-Chin, Clerk & Chief Officer; Mrs. Patricia Priestley, Assistant Clerk; and, Mr. J. Kim Evans, Serjeant-at-Arms. Missing: Ms. Nordra Walcott, Assistant Clerk.)


The Clerk provides procedural advice to the Speaker and Members of Parliament in accordance with the Standing Orders and other statutes that govern the Legislature as well as having resort to the practice of the United Kingdom House of Commons. The Clerk keeps the votes and proceedings of the House and Committees of the whole and is responsible for the custody of the votes, records, Bills and other documents laid before the House.

Together with the Speaker, the Clerk signs all legislation passed by the House for the Governor’s assent. Under the direction of the Speaker, the Clerk is responsible for the production of official reports of all speeches made in the House or in Committee of the whole.

The Clerk is the Registrar of Interests and the Honorary Secretary of the Cayman Islands Branch of the Commonwealth Parliamentary Association and coordinates arrangements for visiting parliamentary delegations, conferences and seminars.

The Clerk is supported by a Deputy Clerk and two Assistant Clerks who support the administration of all House procedings and documentation, as well as by a Procedural Clerk who primarily supports the Standing Public Accounts Committee and the Standing Select Committee to Oversee the Performance of the Office of the Ombudsman.

Current and Past Clerks

Mrs. Zena Merren-Chin, BSc, LLB (Clerk & Chief Officer as of December 2020)

  • 2009 – present 

Ms. Wendy Lauer  

  • 2001–2009 

Mrs. Georgette Myrie, MBE, JP  

  • 1987–2001 

Mrs. E Gay Jackson  

  • 1984–1987 

Hon Sybil I. McLaughlin, MBE, JP, National Hero  

  • 1959–1984

Deputy Clerks

Mrs. Patricia Priestley, BSc., LL.B (Hons.)  

  • 2021 – 2023 (Acting) 

Mrs. Sharon K Smith, JP   

  • 2001 – 2020 

Ms. Wendy Lauer  

  • 1981–2001 

Mrs. Arlene Woods 

Mrs. Mercedes Jackson 

Mrs. Edna M Moyle, JP  

  • 1971–1979 

Assistant Clerks

Mrs. Patricia Priestley, BSc., LL.B (Hons.) 

  • 2020-Present

Ms. Nordra Walcott, LL.B (Hons.), PGDip 

  • 2022-Present
Photo of Assistant Clerk Nordra Walcott writing notes during a House Meeting.
Ms. Nordra Walcott, Assistant Clerk

Mrs. Debra Broderick    

  • 2017 – 2021

Mrs. Da’Vina Ramoutar  

  • 2016 – 2020 

Ms. Shiona Allenger   

  • 2013 – 2015 

Ms. Nana Bothwell  

  • 1982 – 2013 

Mrs. Sharon K. Smith, MBE, JP

  • 1973–2001 

Procedural Clerks

Ms. Susan Burke, BA (Hon. Dist.) 

  • 2022 – Present

Ms. Manesa Webb   

  • 2017 – 2021 

Ms. LeSanneo McLaughlin 

  • 2013 – 2017 


The scope of work of the Serjeant-at-Arms of the Parliament of the Cayman Islands falls under four main categories: Ceremonial, Order in the House, Security and Emergency Management, and Administration. 

The Serjeant-at-Arms takes the leading role, in consultation with the Clerk, in establishing a high level of security for the Speaker and Members of Parliament, the Parliament building and its precincts, and support for the Speaker and Members of the Legislative Assembly. 

The current Serjeant-at-Arms is Mr. J. Kim Evans, NP, who has served in the role since 2010. Mr. Evans is supported by the Parliamentary Page, Mr. Christopher Clarke, who was the Acting Serjeant-at-Arms from 2021-2023. 

For more information on the role and its history, see our book commemorating the 50th Anniversary of the Parliament building here

Serjeant-at-Arms and the Parliamentary Page


  • Mr. John Kim Evans Jr. (2010 to 2021; 2023-Present)
  • Mr. Christopher Clarke (29th June 2021 – 28th February 2023) Acting
  • Mr. Waldo Hilton Parchment Sr. (2010)
  • Mr. Shane Harrison Bothwell (2008-2010)
  • Mr. Javin Jacob Powery (2005-2008)
  • Mr. Walsham Ransworth Connolly (2002-2008)
  • Mr. Cline Glidden Sr. (1987-2002)
  • Mr. Radley Gourzong (1986-1987)
  • Mr. Sibert R. Watler (1974-1986)
  • Supt. Vernon T. Ebanks CPM (1972-1974) Part-time

Parliamentary Page

  • Mr. Christopher Clarke (2018-Present) Inaugural post-holder
  • Mr. Albertini Holness (2021-2022) Acting
  • Mr. Alejandro Holness (2022) Acting